41 Lee Miller and Surrealism in Britain, GLOW star Kate Nash, Pop-up arts2018-06-20 19:04:00
Listen
Listen
42 Caitlin Moran, Beyonce and Jay-Z's new album, National Youth Folk Ensemble, Frank Styles2018-06-19 18:56:00
Listen
Listen
43 Snatches, Carnegie Prize Winner, Best New Video Games, Glasgow School of Art fire2018-06-18 19:11:00
Listen
Listen
44 Frida Kahlo, Fly by Night, Queer Eye, Cats in literature2018-06-15 18:59:00
Listen
Listen
45 Ocean's 8, Football kit design, Tacita Dean on drawing, Classical pianist Alexis Ffrench on hip-hop2018-06-14 19:41:00
Listen
Listen
46 Eddie Izzard, Wilko Johnson and novelist Benjamin Markovits2018-06-13 19:22:00
Listen
Listen

Eddie Izzard, Wilko Johnson and novelist Benjamin Markovits

After discovering that he was almost exactly 150 years younger than Charles Dickens, comedian Eddie Izzard set himself the task of reading all of Dickens' works aloud. The first to be turned into an audiobook is Great Expectations. The stand-up discusses his love of Dickens and the unique challenges that come with reading the author's work. Guitarist and singer Wilko Johnson is about to release Blow Your Mind, his first album of new material in 30 years, and the first since recovering from a mayor life-saving operation to remove a large cancerous tumour in 2014. Johnson looks back over the four years of his recovery, and performs some of his distinctive R&B. In A Weekend in New York, the latest novel by Benjamin Markovits, very little happens, but a great deal is revealed about the Essingers, a large close-knit family who are at their yearly get-together and the city of New York itself. Markovits discuses his motivation for the book and explains his desire to follow in the tradition of Philip Roth and Henry James. Presenter: Kirsty Lang Producer: Julian May.…read more

47 Rosemary's Baby at 50, scary movies, James Joyce's daughter Lucia2018-06-12 19:15:00
Listen
Listen
48 Timothy Spall, Tracy Chapman's Fast Car turns 30, Novelist Lissa Evans2018-06-11 19:01:00
Listen
Listen
49 Pieter-Dirk Uys, Joan Bakewell and Christopher Frayling on older audiences, Gaël Faye2018-06-08 19:08:00
Listen
Listen
50 Rupert Everett, Abir Mukherjee, Sex and the City 20 years on2018-06-07 18:56:00
Listen
Listen
51 Women's Prize for Fiction winner, Jurassic World, Sunderland musician Nadine Shah, The Future Library2018-06-06 19:15:00
Listen
Listen
52 Royal Academy Summer Exhibition, Shebeen in Nottingham, Will Sharpe, Vampyr video game2018-06-05 19:10:00
Listen
Listen
53 David Edgar, Women's non-fiction writing, Art in the aftermath of World War One2018-06-04 19:13:00
Listen
Listen
54 Orlando Bloom, Grief as muse, Antony Gormley, Novello Award-winning rapper Dave.2018-06-01 19:10:00
Listen
Listen
55 Westminster Abbey, The culture of the countryside, Gillian Allnutt2018-05-31 19:17:00
Listen
Listen
56 Angélique Kidjo, Book Club reviewed, Roseanne controversy, novelist Anuradha Roy2018-05-30 19:13:00
Listen
Listen
57 François Ozon's L'Amant Double, Patrick Heron, Rachel Kushner2018-05-29 19:20:00
Listen
Listen
58 Dame Cleo Laine2018-05-28 18:15:00
Listen
Listen
59 Akram Khan, Egon Schiele and Francesca Woodman exhibition, soldier-turned-novelist Kevin Powers2018-05-25 18:57:00
Listen
Listen
60 Orla Kiely, British Asian theatre, Belinda Bauer2018-05-24 19:08:00
Listen
Listen