561 Snatches, Carnegie Prize Winner, Best New Video Games, Glasgow School of Art fire2018-06-18 19:11:00
Listen
Listen
562 Frida Kahlo, Fly by Night, Queer Eye, Cats in literature2018-06-15 18:59:00
Listen
Listen
563 Ocean's 8, Football kit design, Tacita Dean on drawing, Classical pianist Alexis Ffrench on hip-hop2018-06-14 19:41:00
Listen
Listen
564 Eddie Izzard, Wilko Johnson and novelist Benjamin Markovits2018-06-13 19:22:00
Listen
Listen

Eddie Izzard, Wilko Johnson and novelist Benjamin Markovits

After discovering that he was almost exactly 150 years younger than Charles Dickens, comedian Eddie Izzard set himself the task of reading all of Dickens' works aloud. The first to be turned into an audiobook is Great Expectations. The stand-up discusses his love of Dickens and the unique challenges that come with reading the author's work. Guitarist and singer Wilko Johnson is about to release Blow Your Mind, his first album of new material in 30 years, and the first since recovering from a mayor life-saving operation to remove a large cancerous tumour in 2014. Johnson looks back over the four years of his recovery, and performs some of his distinctive R&B. In A Weekend in New York, the latest novel by Benjamin Markovits, very little happens, but a great deal is revealed about the Essingers, a large close-knit family who are at their yearly get-together and the city of New York itself. Markovits discuses his motivation for the book and explains his desire to follow in the tradition of Philip Roth and Henry James. Presenter: Kirsty Lang Producer: Julian May.…read more

565 Rosemary's Baby at 50, scary movies, James Joyce's daughter Lucia2018-06-12 19:15:00
Listen
Listen
566 Timothy Spall, Tracy Chapman's Fast Car turns 30, Novelist Lissa Evans2018-06-11 19:01:00
Listen
Listen
567 Pieter-Dirk Uys, Joan Bakewell and Christopher Frayling on older audiences, Gaël Faye2018-06-08 19:08:00
Listen
Listen
568 Rupert Everett, Abir Mukherjee, Sex and the City 20 years on2018-06-07 18:56:00
Listen
Listen
569 Women's Prize for Fiction winner, Jurassic World, Sunderland musician Nadine Shah, The Future Library2018-06-06 19:15:00
Listen
Listen
570 Royal Academy Summer Exhibition, Shebeen in Nottingham, Will Sharpe, Vampyr video game2018-06-05 19:10:00
Listen
Listen
571 David Edgar, Women's non-fiction writing, Art in the aftermath of World War One2018-06-04 19:13:00
Listen
Listen
572 Orlando Bloom, Grief as muse, Antony Gormley, Novello Award-winning rapper Dave.2018-06-01 19:10:00
Listen
Listen
573 Westminster Abbey, The culture of the countryside, Gillian Allnutt2018-05-31 19:17:00
Listen
Listen
574 Angélique Kidjo, Book Club reviewed, Roseanne controversy, novelist Anuradha Roy2018-05-30 19:13:00
Listen
Listen
575 François Ozon's L'Amant Double, Patrick Heron, Rachel Kushner2018-05-29 19:20:00
Listen
Listen
576 Dame Cleo Laine2018-05-28 18:15:00
Listen
Listen
577 Akram Khan, Egon Schiele and Francesca Woodman exhibition, soldier-turned-novelist Kevin Powers2018-05-25 18:57:00
Listen
Listen
578 Orla Kiely, British Asian theatre, Belinda Bauer2018-05-24 19:08:00
Listen
Listen
579 Novelist Philip Roth remembered2018-05-23 19:13:00
Listen
Listen
580 Fleabag's Phoebe Waller-Bridge on Star Wars, Andrew Sean Greer, Comic novels2018-05-22 19:25:00
Listen
Listen